Quick answer. Of the 27 states we've sourced, 22 let notaries perform remote acts once they complete the state's own step, 2 have it in the law but not open yet, and 3 don't offer audio-video remote notarization. In most of them the commission alone isn't enough: you register, notify the state or get a separate commission first, and you stay inside your state during the act. 23 states and DC aren't covered yet.
Find your state
Showing all 51 (50 states and DC).
| State | Status | Registration | Course or exam | Fees | Records, notes, sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama Recent change | Allowed Allowed by two-way audio-video (Code of Alabama 36-20-73.1); you must be physically in Alabama |
The kit describes no separate state registration; Act 2026-536 adds requirements | Not stated in the kit | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Not stated in the kit |
Recording kept 7 years. Not for absentee ballot papers or anything related to voting. Change: Act 2026-536, in effect October 1, 2026, adds rules on the signer's understanding and voluntary participation, notice of recording, the signer's location in the US, and when you must refuse (Secretary of State page). Sources: Notaries Public, Alabama Secretary of State; SB322 (Act 2023-548), enrolled. From the Alabama Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Alabama |
| Alaska | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| Arizona | Allowed Allowed after electronic and remote online notary authorization (A.R.S. 41-263) |
Apply naming your vendor; sign and return the E-notary/RON request; certificate by email, usually in 1 to 2 weeks | None named; review the administrative rules | State: $0 (no extra fee or bond at this time) Per act: Same cap as a paper act |
Recording kept 5 years (7 when relying on the remote thumbprint exception). Electronic and remote seals carry a separately issued commission number. Sources: Remote & eNotary, Arizona Secretary of State; A.R.S. 41-263. From the Arizona Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Arizona · Signers in Arizona |
| Arkansas | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| California Recent change | Not available Not yet: a video image isn't personal appearance under current law |
Nothing to register for yet | Not yet | State: Not yet Per act: Not yet |
Not yet. Watch the Secretary of State's notary pages for the registration process. Change: The Online Notarization Act (SB 696) takes effect when the Secretary of State certifies its system is ready, or January 1, 2030, whichever comes first. Sources: Notary FAQs, California Secretary of State. From the California Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in California · Signers in California |
| Colorado | Allowed Allowed once the Secretary of State approves you as a remote notary |
"Become a remote notary" in your online account; pick at least one Secretary-approved provider | Remote training and exam required | State: $10 Per act: Up to $25 |
Recording kept 10 years. Get the signer's express verbal consent to recording. Electoral records are excluded. Sources: Colorado Notary Handbook; Notary FAQs: fees. From the Colorado Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Colorado |
| Connecticut Recent change | Allowed, limited Allowed under C.G.S. 3-95b, but not for real estate closings and several other documents |
The kit describes no separate registration; you aren't required to offer it | Not stated in the kit | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Not stated in the kit |
Recording not required; the Manual strongly recommends keeping it 10 years. Excluded: real estate closings, wills and trusts, health care directives, standby guardianship papers and powers of attorney (Manual 4.24). Change: Remote notarization began October 1, 2023 (Public Act 23-28). Sources: Connecticut Notary Public Manual (4.24). From the Connecticut Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Connecticut · Signers in Connecticut |
| Delaware | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| District of Columbia | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| Florida | Allowed Allowed for notaries registered as online notaries (Fla. Stat. ch. 117, Part II) |
Register with the Department of State: current commission, $25,000 bond, $25,000+ E&O insurance, named RON provider(s), fee (s. 117.225) | Course on online notary duties required | State: Registration fee (amount not stated in the kit) Per act: Up to $25 per online act |
Electronic journal and recordings kept 10 years. Tell the Department within 30 days if you change providers. Sources: Fla. Stat. chapter 117. From the Florida Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Florida · Signers in Florida |
| Georgia | Not available No remote process described on the GSCCCA notary pages |
None described | None described | State: None described Per act: None described |
None described. Plan on in-person acts. If asked to notarize remotely on a Georgia commission, check with your Clerk of Superior Court first. Sources: General Notary Information, GSCCCA; Georgia Notary Law, GSCCCA. From the Georgia Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Georgia · Signers in Georgia |
| Hawaii | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| Idaho | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| Illinois Recent change | Allowed Two kinds: remote (ink on paper, signer in Illinois) for any notary; electronic by audio-video with an electronic commission |
Electronic notary commission and Secretary-approved technology before the first electronic act | Course and exam for the electronic commission | State: Extra $25,000 bond (or one $30,000 bond for both kinds); application fee not stated Per act: Up to $25 per electronic act |
Remote (ink): the signer keeps the recording 3 years. In a remote (ink) act, the signer sends a copy of the signed document by the next day and you return it witnessed within 24 hours. Change: Fee caps amended by P.A. 104-0083, effective January 1, 2026. Sources: Illinois Notary Public Act, 5 ILCS 312. From the Illinois Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Illinois · Signers in Illinois |
| Indiana | Allowed, limited Allowed for electronic documents only; paper RON and remote ink notarization aren't allowed |
Apply online and pick a Secretary-approved vendor; ends with your commission | Remote course and exam required | State: $100 (nonrefundable) Per act: Up to $25 |
Electronic journal of remote acts kept 10 years. The certificate names where you and the signer were. Sources: Notary Public, INBiz; Indiana Notary Public Update (2024). From the Indiana Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Indiana |
| Iowa | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| Kansas | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| Kentucky | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| Louisiana Recent change | Allowed Allowed for commissioned notaries who register with the Secretary of State |
Register through your online notary account and pick a provider from the Secretary's list | Online course and quiz | State: $100 one-time filing fee Per act: No fee limit found in R.S. 35:621 et seq. |
Electronic copies and recordings kept 10 years. A witness must be with the party. Not for wills, trusts, donations, matrimonial agreements and some spousal support acts (R.S. 35:623). Change: A 2026 resolution asks the Law Institute to study using remote notarization for authentic acts; until the law changes, it can't be used for them. Sources: Become a Remote Online Notary, Louisiana Secretary of State. From the Louisiana Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Louisiana |
| Maine | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| Maryland | Allowed Allowed since October 1, 2020 (State Government 18-214) |
File the Remote Notary notification form online before your first remote act; refile at renewal | Not stated in the kit | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Up to $30 |
Recording kept 10 years. Tell the Secretary within 10 business days if you switch vendors. Sources: Remote Notary Information, Maryland Secretary of State; State Government 18-214. From the Maryland Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Maryland · Signers in Maryland |
| Massachusetts Recent change | In the law, not open yet In the law (c. 222, s. 28) but not open: the Secretary's training and notification form aren't available yet |
When it opens: register before your first remote act and name a provider from the Secretary's registry | Training (no more than 3 hours) when it opens | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Not stated in the kit |
Recording kept 10 years (when it opens). Not for wills, codicils or electoral records. Change: Enacted in 2023; the Secretary's page (checked November 2026) says not to use online remote platforms yet. Sources: Remote Online Notarization, Secretary of the Commonwealth; M.G.L. c. 222, s. 28. From the Massachusetts Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Massachusetts · Signers in Massachusetts |
| Michigan | Allowed Allowed (MCL 55.286b) on a Department-approved platform |
Submit the Electronic and Remote Notary Request for Change form; acts before it's processed are invalid | Free Department training offered; vendors train on their systems | State: $0 Per act: Up to $10 |
Recording and journal kept 10 years. Disclose the recording and get consent. Sources: Notary FAQs, Michigan Department of State; Michigan Law on Notarial Acts. From the Michigan Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Michigan · Signers in Michigan |
| Minnesota Recent change | Allowed Allowed after you register with the Secretary of State (358.645) |
Remote Online Notarization Authorization Registration Form; register again when recommissioned | Training providers listed; the Secretary doesn't say a course is mandatory | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Same fee section as in-person acts (357.17) |
Recording and journal kept 10 years. Knowledge-based questions: at least 5, 80% correct within 2 minutes. Change: Since January 1, 2023, remote acts follow the same fee section as in-person acts (Secretary of State remote FAQ). Sources: Minn. Stat. 358.645; Become a Notary, Minnesota Secretary of State. From the Minnesota Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Minnesota |
| Mississippi | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| Missouri | Allowed, limited Allowed for acknowledgments and jurats after you register remote online capability |
Online registration form; software from the Secretary's approved vendor list; re-register after recommissioning | Online training course; the handbook says an added course and exam | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Remote transaction fee allowed if agreed in advance (486.1160) |
Recording kept 10 years (486.1195). In-person electronic notarization is a separate registration. Sources: Missouri Notary Handbook; RSMo 486.1195. From the Missouri Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Missouri |
| Montana | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| Nebraska | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| Nevada | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| New Hampshire | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| New Jersey | Allowed Allowed (N.J.S.A. 52:7-10.10); you must be in New Jersey, the signer can be anywhere |
Notify the State Treasurer and identify your technologies before your first remote act | Not stated in the kit | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Not confirmed on an official page |
Recording kept 10 years. Personal knowledge, a credible witness, or two types of identity proofing. Sources: N.J.S.A. 52:7-10.10. From the Online Notary Business Guide. Becoming a notary in New Jersey |
| New Mexico | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| New York | Allowed Allowed as electronic notarization (Executive Law 135-c; 19 NYCRR 182) |
Register electronic capability with the Department of State before the first electronic act | None named | State: $60 (nonrefundable) Per act: Up to $25, covering all costs |
Recording kept 10 years. You must be in New York, on a network that allows location detection. Sources: Notary Public License Law, NY Department of State. From the New York Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in New York · Signers in New York |
| North Carolina Recent change | In the law, not open yet In the law (G.S. 10B, Part 4A) for registered electronic notaries; check whether remote licensing has opened |
Register as an electronic notary first; use only a Secretary-licensed platform | Course of at least 4 hours plus exam (electronic notary) | State: $50 electronic notary registration Per act: $25 per principal signature (remote electronic) |
Every remote act recorded; journal kept 10 years. The signer may be anywhere in the US or at listed military or diplomatic locations. Change: The Secretary of State says emergency video notarizations run to July 1, 2027, or until the first remote electronic notarization license is issued (checked November 2026). Sources: Notary, NC Secretary of State; G.S. Chapter 10B, Article 2. From the North Carolina Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in North Carolina · Signers in North Carolina |
| North Dakota | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| Ohio | Allowed Allowed for authorized online notaries (R.C. 147.60 to 147.66) |
Ohio resident with a commission; file with the Secretary of State | 2-hour education program and test ($250 to the provider) | State: $20 filing Per act: Up to $30 per online notarization, plus up to $10 technology fee per session |
Tamper-evident recording with a backup; electronic journal. Principals outside the US only under 147.64(C)(2). Sources: R.C. 147.64; Ohio Adm. Code 111:6-1-03. From the Ohio Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Ohio · Signers in Ohio |
| Oklahoma | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| Oregon | Allowed Allowed (ORS 194.277) |
Notify the Secretary of State before your first remote act; use a platform that meets the vendor rules | Secretary's remote training | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Up to $25 |
Recording kept 10 years. In-person electronic notarization is a separate, free notice. Sources: ORS chapter 194; Notary Training, Oregon Secretary of State. From the Oregon Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Oregon |
| Pennsylvania | Allowed Allowed; made permanent by Act 97 of 2020 |
Notify the Department through its online Electronic/Remote Notarization application; then name each approved technology | Not stated in the kit | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Up to $20 on top of the regular notarial fee |
Not stated in the kit. FaceTime or similar calls aren't personal appearance. Sources: Electronic or remote notarization, PA Department of State. From the Pennsylvania Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Pennsylvania · Signers in Pennsylvania |
| Rhode Island | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| South Carolina | Not available No audio-video remote notarization in the Code chapters read; electronic notarization is in person only |
In-person electronic only: Online Notary Portal, approved vendor | Educational video and online test (electronic) | State: $50 (electronic registration) Per act: $10 per signature (electronic) |
Electronic journal (26-2-90). Real estate and mortgage closings must be supervised by a licensed attorney. Sources: S.C. Code Title 26, Chapter 2. From the South Carolina Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in South Carolina |
| South Dakota | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| Tennessee | Allowed Allowed since July 1, 2019 for notaries the Secretary of State approves (T.C.A. 8-16-301) |
Apply online to the Secretary of State with your vendor, journal method, seal and sample certificate | None listed; ask the notary office | State: $75 Per act: Not stated in the kit |
Online records and a backup kept 5 years. The online commission ends with your county commission. Sources: Register as an online notary, Tennessee Secretary of State. From the Tennessee Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Tennessee |
| Texas | Allowed Allowed as a separate online notary commission |
Hold a traditional commission, then apply in the SOS Notary Portal; X.509 digital certificate and electronic seal | Online notary education | State: $50 plus a 2.7% convenience fee Per act: Not stated in the kit |
Electronic record of each act, with the recording and a backup. The Secretary of State doesn't recommend providers. Sources: Online Notary Getting Started, Texas Secretary of State. From the Texas Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Texas · Signers in Texas |
| Utah | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| Vermont | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| Virginia | Allowed Allowed for electronic notaries |
Traditional commission first, then apply online for an electronic commission; buy an electronic seal first | Not stated in the kit | State: $45 (nonrefundable) Per act: Up to $25 per electronic act |
Recording kept 5 years. Tell the Secretary within 90 days if you change technology. Sources: Electronic Notary, Secretary of the Commonwealth; Notary Handbook (July 2026). From the Virginia Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Virginia · Signers in Virginia |
| Washington | Allowed Allowed with an electronic records endorsement and remote approval (ch. 42.45 RCW) |
Get the endorsement, tell the Department your software within 30 days, then send your remote software name and wait for approval | Not stated in the kit | State: $15 endorsement Per act: Up to $25 |
Recording kept 10 years with a backup. Knowledge-based quiz: at least 5 questions, 80% within 2 minutes. Sources: Get your license, WA Department of Licensing; Chapter 308-30 WAC. From the Washington Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Washington |
| West Virginia | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
| Wisconsin | Allowed Allowed since 2019 Wisconsin Act 125; DFI-approved technology only |
No extra commission: complete an approved provider's onboarding and training; the provider notifies DFI | Provider's onboarding and training | State: No extra commission or license Per act: No DFI cap for remote acts found |
Recording kept 7 years. Remote estate planning documents need a supervising Wisconsin attorney (140.147). Sources: Wis. Stat. 140.145; Notary Public General Information, DFI. From the Wisconsin Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Wisconsin |
| Wyoming | Not yet covered | Not yet covered; check your commissioning office. | |||
Recent and upcoming changes
Marked only where the state's kit or the official page itself describes the change. Three were rechecked on the official page in November 2026: Alabama, Massachusetts and North Carolina.
- Alabama: Act 2026-536, in effect October 1, 2026, adds rules on the signer's understanding and voluntary participation, notice of recording, the signer's location in the US, and when you must refuse (Secretary of State page).
- California: The Online Notarization Act (SB 696) takes effect when the Secretary of State certifies its system is ready, or January 1, 2030, whichever comes first.
- Connecticut: Remote notarization began October 1, 2023 (Public Act 23-28).
- Illinois: Fee caps amended by P.A. 104-0083, effective January 1, 2026.
- Louisiana: A 2026 resolution asks the Law Institute to study using remote notarization for authentic acts; until the law changes, it can't be used for them.
- Massachusetts: Enacted in 2023; the Secretary's page (checked November 2026) says not to use online remote platforms yet.
- Minnesota: Since January 1, 2023, remote acts follow the same fee section as in-person acts (Secretary of State remote FAQ).
- North Carolina: The Secretary of State says emergency video notarizations run to July 1, 2027, or until the first remote electronic notarization license is issued (checked November 2026).
How to read the table
- Allowed means the kit found a working path for notaries: a registration, notice, approval or separate commission. Allowed, limited means the path exists but covers less, such as electronic documents only (Indiana), acknowledgments and jurats only (Missouri), or no real estate closings (Connecticut).
- In the law, not open yet means the statute is there but the state hasn't opened registration or licensing. Not available means the official pages the kit used describe no audio-video remote notarization for that state's notaries.
- Not stated in the kit means the kit's official sources didn't give that figure. We leave it blank rather than guess. Ask the commissioning office.
- A per-act fee is the most the notary may charge for the notarial act. Platform and technology charges are a separate question; read your state's rule.
Signing for someone in another state? Whether their state accepts an out-of-state online notarization is covered on online notary by state. For the steps to get commissioned in the first place, see how to become a notary in other states. Adding remote acts to a New Jersey commission? Start with how remote online notarization works in New Jersey.
General information checked November 2026 against each state's official pages, cited in its row, not legal advice. Rules change; confirm with your commissioning office before your first remote act. MCC Solutions isn't affiliated with any state. The filter runs in your browser.
Common questions
Can I notarize remotely as soon as I'm commissioned?
Usually not. Most states on this table that allow remote acts have a step first: a registration, a notice, a separate commission or an approved platform. Michigan says acts done before it processes your form are invalid. A few, such as Illinois for remote ink acts, need no extra step, so read your own row.
Do I have to be in my own state during a remote act?
Yes, wherever the kit states a location rule. Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Maryland, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Washington, Wisconsin and others require the notary to be physically in the state. The signer can often be elsewhere, with extra conditions for signers outside the US. Check your own row.
Which states changed their remote rules recently?
This page marks 8 states where the kit or the official page describes a recent or upcoming change. Among them: Alabama's Act 2026-536 took effect October 1, 2026, North Carolina's emergency video notarizations run until July 1, 2027 or the first remote license, and Massachusetts hasn't opened registration yet.
My state says 'not yet covered'. What should I do?
We haven't built a kit for that state yet, so we don't summarize its rules. Go to your commissioning office's website, usually the Secretary of State, and search for remote or online notarization. The worksheet in the Online Notary Business Guide shows what to write down.
Is this the same as whether my signer's state accepts the notarization?
No. This page is about whether you, the notary, may perform remote acts. Whether a document notarized online is accepted somewhere else is a different question, covered on our online notary by state pages.