Quick answer. Across all 50 states and DC, 45 let notaries perform remote acts once they complete the state's own step, 2 have it in the law but not open yet, and 4 don't offer audio-video remote notarization. In most of them the commission alone isn't enough: you register, notify the state or get a separate commission first, and you stay inside your state during the act.
Find your state
Showing all 51 (50 states and DC).
| State | Status | Registration | Course or exam | Fees | Records, notes, sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama Recent change | Allowed Allowed by two-way audio-video (Code of Alabama 36-20-73.1); you must be physically in Alabama |
The kit describes no separate state registration; Act 2026-536 adds requirements | Not stated in the kit | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Not stated in the kit |
Recording kept 7 years. Not for absentee ballot papers or anything related to voting. Change: Act 2026-536, in effect October 1, 2026, adds rules on the signer's understanding and voluntary participation, notice of recording, the signer's location in the US, and when you must refuse (Secretary of State page). Sources: Notaries Public, Alabama Secretary of State; SB322 (Act 2023-548), enrolled. From the Alabama Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Alabama |
| Alaska | Allowed Allowed for remotely located individuals under rules in effect by January 1, 2021, after the Notary Administrator approves you |
Send a written request to the Notary Administrator and get approval before your first remote act; use a vendor from the state's list | Meet your vendor's certification; no state course described | State: $100 (or $25 for each remaining year of an existing commission) Per act: No dollar cap; charge only after giving the signer a fee schedule |
Retention period not stated; ask the Notary Administrator. Each remote transaction states that it was performed using communication technology. Sources: Updated Notarial Capabilities, Office of the Lieutenant Governor; Alaska Notary Statutes (AS 44.50). From the Alaska Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Alaska |
| Arizona | Allowed Allowed after electronic and remote online notary authorization (A.R.S. 41-263) |
Apply naming your vendor; sign and return the E-notary/RON request; certificate by email, usually in 1 to 2 weeks | None named; review the administrative rules | State: $0 (no extra fee or bond at this time) Per act: Same cap as a paper act |
Recording kept 5 years (7 when relying on the remote thumbprint exception). Electronic and remote seals carry a separately issued commission number. Sources: Remote & eNotary, Arizona Secretary of State; A.R.S. 41-263. From the Arizona Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Arizona · Signers in Arizona |
| Arkansas | Allowed Allowed with an electronic commission; for remote acts you must be in Arkansas |
Apply for the electronic commission by online amendment and register with a provider on the Secretary's approved list | eNotary training and exam; refresher every 2 years | State: Training $0; amendment fee not stated in the kit Per act: A reasonable fee, agreed beforehand (2025 Handbook) |
Retention period not stated in the Handbook; ask the Secretary of State or your provider. The electronic commission runs with your traditional one and can't outlast your bond. Sources: Arkansas Notary Public Handbook (Rev. 1-2025); Notary and eNotary, Arkansas Secretary of State. From the Arkansas Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Arkansas |
| California Recent change | Not available Not yet: a video image isn't personal appearance under current law |
Nothing to register for yet | Not yet | State: Not yet Per act: Not yet |
Not yet. Watch the Secretary of State's notary pages for the registration process. Change: The Online Notarization Act (SB 696) takes effect when the Secretary of State certifies its system is ready, or January 1, 2030, whichever comes first. Sources: Notary FAQs, California Secretary of State. From the California Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in California · Signers in California |
| Colorado | Allowed Allowed once the Secretary of State approves you as a remote notary |
"Become a remote notary" in your online account; pick at least one Secretary-approved provider | Remote training and exam required | State: $10 Per act: Up to $25 |
Recording kept 10 years. Get the signer's express verbal consent to recording. Electoral records are excluded. Sources: Colorado Notary Handbook; Notary FAQs: fees. From the Colorado Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Colorado |
| Connecticut Recent change | Allowed, limited Allowed under C.G.S. 3-95b, but not for real estate closings and several other documents |
The kit describes no separate registration; you aren't required to offer it | Not stated in the kit | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Not stated in the kit |
Recording not required; the Manual strongly recommends keeping it 10 years. Excluded: real estate closings, wills and trusts, health care directives, standby guardianship papers and powers of attorney (Manual 4.24). Change: Remote notarization began October 1, 2023 (Public Act 23-28). Sources: Connecticut Notary Public Manual (4.24). From the Connecticut Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Connecticut · Signers in Connecticut |
| Delaware | Allowed Allowed with remote privileges; you must be physically in Delaware |
Request remote privileges in your Notary Profile, use an Approved Technology Provider, and notify the Secretary of your technology before your first remote act (29 Del. C. 4320(l)) | Not stated in the kit | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Up to $25 per act on an electronic record |
Recording kept at least 10 years. For a paper record, the signer sends you the signed record and a declaration within 3 days. Sources: Delaware Code Title 29, Chapter 43; Fee information, Delaware Notary Public Section. From the Delaware Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Delaware |
| District of Columbia | Allowed Allowed with an IPEN endorsement and then a remote endorsement; you must be in DC for every remote act |
After one year as a DC notary, get the IPEN endorsement, then file the Remote Notary Endorsement Oath Form | IPEN vendor training, then remote vendor training | State: $30 IPEN endorsement plus $30 remote endorsement Per act: No separate remote fee stated; ask ONCA |
Recording kept at least 10 years; electronic journal. Identity: personal knowledge, a credible witness or at least two types of identity proofing. Sources: Frequently asked questions, DC Office of Notary Commissions and Authentications; D.C. Code 1-1231.13a. From the District of Columbia Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in District of Columbia |
| Florida | Allowed Allowed for notaries registered as online notaries (Fla. Stat. ch. 117, Part II) |
Register with the Department of State: current commission, $25,000 bond, $25,000+ E&O insurance, named RON provider(s), fee (s. 117.225) | Course on online notary duties required | State: Registration fee (amount not stated in the kit) Per act: Up to $25 per online act |
Electronic journal and recordings kept 10 years. Tell the Department within 30 days if you change providers. Sources: Fla. Stat. chapter 117. From the Florida Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Florida · Signers in Florida |
| Georgia | Not available No remote process described on the GSCCCA notary pages |
None described | None described | State: None described Per act: None described |
None described. Plan on in-person acts. If asked to notarize remotely on a Georgia commission, check with your Clerk of Superior Court first. Sources: General Notary Information, GSCCCA; Georgia Notary Law, GSCCCA. From the Georgia Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Georgia · Signers in Georgia |
| Hawaii | Allowed Allowed through a separate remote online notary commission, open only to notaries with an active commission |
Apply to the Attorney General's notary office for the remote online notary commission | Not stated in the kit | State: $20 application plus $100 commission ($120 renewal) Per act: Up to $25 per remote act (HRS 456-17) |
Electronic journal and recording kept 10 years. An X.509 digital certificate for each act. Signers outside the US only in limited circumstances. Sources: Notary Public Manual (August 2022), Hawaii Attorney General; HRS 456-17. From the Hawaii Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Hawaii |
| Idaho | Allowed Allowed after you notify the Secretary of State |
Notify the Secretary of State that you'll perform remote online notarization, naming your technology; register technology before your first electronic act | Not stated in the kit | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Up to $5 per notarial act (Idaho Code 51-133) |
Recording kept at least 10 years. Your technology must meet the Idaho Administrative Rules for remote notarization. Sources: Notary Public FAQ, Idaho Secretary of State; Idaho Code 51-133. From the Idaho Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Idaho |
| Illinois Recent change | Allowed Two kinds: remote (ink on paper, signer in Illinois) for any notary; electronic by audio-video with an electronic commission |
Electronic notary commission and Secretary-approved technology before the first electronic act | Course and exam for the electronic commission | State: Extra $25,000 bond (or one $30,000 bond for both kinds); application fee not stated Per act: Up to $25 per electronic act |
Remote (ink): the signer keeps the recording 3 years. In a remote (ink) act, the signer sends a copy of the signed document by the next day and you return it witnessed within 24 hours. Change: Fee caps amended by P.A. 104-0083, effective January 1, 2026. Sources: Illinois Notary Public Act, 5 ILCS 312. From the Illinois Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Illinois · Signers in Illinois |
| Indiana | Allowed, limited Allowed for electronic documents only; paper RON and remote ink notarization aren't allowed |
Apply online and pick a Secretary-approved vendor; ends with your commission | Remote course and exam required | State: $100 (nonrefundable) Per act: Up to $25 |
Electronic journal of remote acts kept 10 years. The certificate names where you and the signer were. Sources: Notary Public, INBiz; Indiana Notary Public Update (2024). From the Indiana Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Indiana |
| Iowa | Allowed Allowed for an Iowa notary located in Iowa (Iowa Code 9B.14A) |
Notify the Secretary of State and name your technologies before your first remote act | Approved remote course within 6 months before your first remote act | State: $0 Per act: A reasonable fee (Handbook) |
Recording kept at least 10 years. Record only the act, never the identity checks or knowledge-based questions. Sources: Handbook for Iowa Notaries Public (2023); Remote online notarization, Iowa Secretary of State. From the Iowa Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Iowa |
| Kansas | Allowed Allowed and optional (K.S.A. 53-5a15); you must be physically in Kansas |
Choose an approved RON/IPEN provider, get a digital certificate, then file Form NC with your training certificate | Free online training and test | State: $20 Per act: No maximum set; disclose and agree first (K.A.R. 7-43-16) |
Recording kept at least 10 years. Your remote registration runs with your 4-year commission. Sources: Notary Public, Kansas Secretary of State. From the Kansas Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Kansas |
| Kentucky | Allowed Allowed; you must be physically in Kentucky |
Register for online notarization of electronic records (effective 30 days after you qualify); for paper records, notify the Secretary of State by email or mail first | Not stated in the kit | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: No dollar cap; disclose the fee in advance (KRS 423.430) |
Recording kept at least 10 years. Knowledge-based questions: at least 5, 80% correct within 2 minutes, one retry within 24 hours. Sources: Notary Public, Kentucky Secretary of State; KRS chapter 423. From the Kentucky Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Kentucky |
| Louisiana Recent change | Allowed Allowed for commissioned notaries who register with the Secretary of State |
Register through your online notary account and pick a provider from the Secretary's list | Online course and quiz | State: $100 one-time filing fee Per act: No fee limit found in R.S. 35:621 et seq. |
Electronic copies and recordings kept 10 years. A witness must be with the party. Not for wills, trusts, donations, matrimonial agreements and some spousal support acts (R.S. 35:623). Change: A 2026 resolution asks the Law Institute to study using remote notarization for authentic acts; until the law changes, it can't be used for them. Sources: Become a Remote Online Notary, Louisiana Secretary of State. From the Louisiana Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Louisiana |
| Maine | Allowed Allowed only after Secretary of State approval; you must be physically in Maine |
File the Notice to Perform Electronic and/or Remote Notarizations, naming approved providers; report provider changes within 10 business days | Your providers' training certifications | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: No statutory maximum; written disclosure and consent first |
Recording kept at least 10 years. Zoom, FaceTime and similar software aren't allowed. Not for absentee ballot witnessing, certain petition and candidate oaths, or marriages. Sources: Notaries Public FAQ, Maine Secretary of State; 4 M.R.S. 1915. From the Maine Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Maine |
| Maryland | Allowed Allowed since October 1, 2020 (State Government 18-214) |
File the Remote Notary notification form online before your first remote act; refile at renewal | Not stated in the kit | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Up to $30 |
Recording kept 10 years. Tell the Secretary within 10 business days if you switch vendors. Sources: Remote Notary Information, Maryland Secretary of State; State Government 18-214. From the Maryland Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Maryland · Signers in Maryland |
| Massachusetts Recent change | In the law, not open yet In the law (c. 222, s. 28) but not open: the Secretary's training and notification form aren't available yet |
When it opens: register before your first remote act and name a provider from the Secretary's registry | Training (no more than 3 hours) when it opens | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Not stated in the kit |
Recording kept 10 years (when it opens). Not for wills, codicils or electoral records. Change: Enacted in 2023; the Secretary's page (checked November 2026) says not to use online remote platforms yet. Sources: Remote Online Notarization, Secretary of the Commonwealth; M.G.L. c. 222, s. 28. From the Massachusetts Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Massachusetts · Signers in Massachusetts |
| Michigan | Allowed Allowed (MCL 55.286b) on a Department-approved platform |
Submit the Electronic and Remote Notary Request for Change form; acts before it's processed are invalid | Free Department training offered; vendors train on their systems | State: $0 Per act: Up to $10 |
Recording and journal kept 10 years. Disclose the recording and get consent. Sources: Notary FAQs, Michigan Department of State; Michigan Law on Notarial Acts. From the Michigan Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Michigan · Signers in Michigan |
| Minnesota Recent change | Allowed Allowed after you register with the Secretary of State (358.645) |
Remote Online Notarization Authorization Registration Form; register again when recommissioned | Training providers listed; the Secretary doesn't say a course is mandatory | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Same fee section as in-person acts (357.17) |
Recording and journal kept 10 years. Knowledge-based questions: at least 5, 80% correct within 2 minutes. Change: Since January 1, 2023, remote acts follow the same fee section as in-person acts (Secretary of State remote FAQ). Sources: Minn. Stat. 358.645; Become a Notary, Minnesota Secretary of State. From the Minnesota Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Minnesota |
| Mississippi | Not available No standing remote procedure in the law the Secretary of State posts; the signer must appear personally (25-34-15) |
None described; in-person electronic notarization is a separate application (Rule 8.1) | None described | State: None described Per act: None described |
None described. The 2020 emergency permission was temporary. HB 1154 (2025) proposed a remote framework but isn't in the posted law. Ask the Secretary of State before any remote work. Sources: Revised Mississippi Law on Notarial Acts and notary rules, Mississippi Secretary of State. From the Mississippi Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Mississippi |
| Missouri | Allowed, limited Allowed for acknowledgments and jurats after you register remote online capability |
Online registration form; software from the Secretary's approved vendor list; re-register after recommissioning | Online training course; the handbook says an added course and exam | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Remote transaction fee allowed if agreed in advance (486.1160) |
Recording kept 10 years (486.1195). In-person electronic notarization is a separate registration. Sources: Missouri Notary Handbook; RSMo 486.1195. From the Missouri Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Missouri |
| Montana | Allowed Allowed since the 2019 Legislature authorized it; you must be physically in Montana |
Choose an approved platform and file an amendment; notify the Secretary of State and identify the system before your first remote act (MCA 1-5-615(3)) | Required course and exam | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Governed by ARM 44.15.109; check the rule |
Recording kept 10 years in your sole possession or an approved repository. If the signer isn't personally known, use two or more approved identity technologies. Sources: Montana Notary Public Handbook, Montana Secretary of State. From the Montana Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Montana |
| Nebraska | Allowed Allowed for notaries registered as online notaries (Neb. Rev. Stat. 64-401 to 64-420) |
Apply in the portal, then give your approval letter to an approved solution provider | Online Notary Training Course and 20-question exam (85% to pass) | State: $50 Per act: Up to $25 more per act (64-412) |
Electronic journal and backup kept at least 10 years. The principal may be in or outside Nebraska. An online act doesn't satisfy physical presence for wills and testamentary trusts. Sources: Neb. Rev. Stat. 64-412; Online notary application, Nebraska Secretary of State. From the Nebraska Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Nebraska |
| Nevada | Allowed Allowed only with an active electronic notary registration (NRS 240.192); you must be physically in Nevada |
Electronic notary registration listing your commission number, each solution provider, and your electronic seal and signature | Separate electronic notarization course, dated within 90 days | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Not stated in the kit; see NRS 240.181 to 240.206 |
Electronic journal that can't be altered; recording retention not stated in the kit. You and the signer must both consent to audio-video. If the connection drops, restart the act. Sources: NRS chapter 240; NAC chapter 240. From the Nevada Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Nevada |
| New Hampshire | Allowed Allowed and optional once you file the e-notarization form (RSA 456-B); you must be physically in New Hampshire |
File the RSA 456-B Electronic/Remote Notarization Users of E-Notarization Form naming your technology vendors | Not stated in the kit | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: $25 (RSA 455:11) |
Recording and journal kept 10 years. Until the Secretary of State adopts a rule, follow the MISMO Remote Online Notarization Standards. Sources: Electronic and Remote Notarization, New Hampshire Secretary of State; RSA 455:11. From the New Hampshire Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in New Hampshire |
| New Jersey | Allowed Allowed (N.J.S.A. 52:7-10.10); you must be in New Jersey, the signer can be anywhere |
Notify the State Treasurer and identify your technologies before your first remote act | Not stated in the kit | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Not confirmed on an official page |
Recording kept 10 years. Personal knowledge, a credible witness, or two types of identity proofing. Sources: N.J.S.A. 52:7-10.10. From the Online Notary Business Guide. Becoming a notary in New Jersey |
| New Mexico | Allowed Allowed with Remote Online Notary status; you must be physically in New Mexico |
Apply online as an amendment to your commission with a PDF of your electronic stamp; notify the Secretary before your first remote act | Separate Remote Online Notary course and exam | State: $75 Per act: Technology fee up to $25 per electronic act |
Recording kept at least 10 years. Note the platform provider in your journal. Sources: RULONA FAQs, New Mexico Secretary of State; SB 246 (2023). From the New Mexico Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in New Mexico |
| New York | Allowed Allowed as electronic notarization (Executive Law 135-c; 19 NYCRR 182) |
Register electronic capability with the Department of State before the first electronic act | None named | State: $60 (nonrefundable) Per act: Up to $25, covering all costs |
Recording kept 10 years. You must be in New York, on a network that allows location detection. Sources: Notary Public License Law, NY Department of State. From the New York Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in New York · Signers in New York |
| North Carolina Recent change | In the law, not open yet In the law (G.S. 10B, Part 4A) for registered electronic notaries; check whether remote licensing has opened |
Register as an electronic notary first; use only a Secretary-licensed platform | Course of at least 4 hours plus exam (electronic notary) | State: $50 electronic notary registration Per act: $25 per principal signature (remote electronic) |
Every remote act recorded; journal kept 10 years. The signer may be anywhere in the US or at listed military or diplomatic locations. Change: The Secretary of State says emergency video notarizations run to July 1, 2027, or until the first remote electronic notarization license is issued (checked November 2026). Sources: Notary, NC Secretary of State; G.S. Chapter 10B, Article 2. From the North Carolina Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in North Carolina · Signers in North Carolina |
| North Dakota | Allowed Allowed after you file a Notary Public Amendment naming your provider |
File the amendment on the FirstStop Portal before your first electronic or remote act | Not stated in the kit | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: $5 per act; a technology fee only if agreed in advance |
Recording and journal kept 10 years. Remote ink on paper covers acknowledgments only; the signer sends you the document and declaration within 3 days. Sources: Performing Electronic and Remote Notarizations, North Dakota Secretary of State. From the North Dakota Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in North Dakota |
| Ohio | Allowed Allowed for authorized online notaries (R.C. 147.60 to 147.66) |
Ohio resident with a commission; file with the Secretary of State | 2-hour education program and test ($250 to the provider) | State: $20 filing Per act: Up to $30 per online notarization, plus up to $10 technology fee per session |
Tamper-evident recording with a backup; electronic journal. Principals outside the US only under 147.64(C)(2). Sources: R.C. 147.64; Ohio Adm. Code 111:6-1-03. From the Ohio Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Ohio · Signers in Ohio |
| Oklahoma | Allowed Allowed after written authorization (49 O.S. 201 to 209); you must be physically in Oklahoma |
Register with the Secretary of State and wait for written authorization | Not stated in the kit | State: $25 (49 O.S. 204) Per act: Up to $25 (49 O.S. 209) |
Recording and electronic journal kept at least 10 years. Signers may be outside the US under listed conditions. Sources: Oklahoma Statutes Title 49 (Remote Online Notary Act). From the Oklahoma Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Oklahoma |
| Oregon | Allowed Allowed (ORS 194.277) |
Notify the Secretary of State before your first remote act; use a platform that meets the vendor rules | Secretary's remote training | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Up to $25 |
Recording kept 10 years. In-person electronic notarization is a separate, free notice. Sources: ORS chapter 194; Notary Training, Oregon Secretary of State. From the Oregon Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Oregon |
| Pennsylvania | Allowed Allowed; made permanent by Act 97 of 2020 |
Notify the Department through its online Electronic/Remote Notarization application; then name each approved technology | Not stated in the kit | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Up to $20 on top of the regular notarial fee |
Not stated in the kit. FaceTime or similar calls aren't personal appearance. Sources: Electronic or remote notarization, PA Department of State. From the Pennsylvania Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Pennsylvania · Signers in Pennsylvania |
| Rhode Island | Allowed Allowed with an approved solution provider and the Department's confirmation |
Mail or bring the Notary Public Information Update Form with signature and stamp samples; wait for email confirmation | Not stated in the kit | State: $0 Per act: Up to $25 |
Recording kept at least 10 years. FaceTime, Zoom, WebEx and similar tools can't be used. Paper documents must reach you within 30 days. Sources: Remote Online Notarization Performance Guide, Rhode Island Department of State; Electronic and Remote Online Notarization, Rhode Island Department of State. From the Rhode Island Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Rhode Island |
| South Carolina | Not available No audio-video remote notarization in the Code chapters read; electronic notarization is in person only |
In-person electronic only: Online Notary Portal, approved vendor | Educational video and online test (electronic) | State: $50 (electronic registration) Per act: $10 per signature (electronic) |
Electronic journal (26-2-90). Real estate and mortgage closings must be supervised by a licensed attorney. Sources: S.C. Code Title 26, Chapter 2. From the South Carolina Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in South Carolina |
| South Dakota Recent change | Allowed Allowed: remote ink on paper since 2019 and electronic records by video; you must be physically in South Dakota |
File a Notary Change Form naming your platform, with its e-seal image; you receive a certificate listing you as an e-notary | Not stated in the kit | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: A fee per instrument; no dollar maximum in the statute |
Audio-visual copy kept 10 years (18-1-11.3). The state doesn't approve or list vendors. Remote ink acts need personal knowledge of the signer. Change: SB 211 (2024) added notarization of electronic records by video, with two methods of identity proofing (SDCL 18-1-11.2). Sources: E-Notary, South Dakota Secretary of State; South Dakota Notary Public Handbook. From the South Dakota Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in South Dakota |
| Tennessee | Allowed Allowed since July 1, 2019 for notaries the Secretary of State approves (T.C.A. 8-16-301) |
Apply online to the Secretary of State with your vendor, journal method, seal and sample certificate | None listed; ask the notary office | State: $75 Per act: Not stated in the kit |
Online records and a backup kept 5 years. The online commission ends with your county commission. Sources: Register as an online notary, Tennessee Secretary of State. From the Tennessee Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Tennessee |
| Texas | Allowed Allowed as a separate online notary commission |
Hold a traditional commission, then apply in the SOS Notary Portal; X.509 digital certificate and electronic seal | Online notary education | State: $50 plus a 2.7% convenience fee Per act: Not stated in the kit |
Electronic record of each act, with the recording and a backup. The Secretary of State doesn't recommend providers. Sources: Online Notary Getting Started, Texas Secretary of State. From the Texas Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Texas · Signers in Texas |
| Utah | Allowed Allowed with remote status, which you reapply for at each new commission; you must be physically in Utah |
Be hired or contracted by an approved vendor, raise your bond coverage to $10,000, then apply | Not stated in the kit | State: $50 Per act: Up to $25 per item |
Recording stored with your electronic journal, plus a backup. The office recommends a bond rider rather than a separate $5,000 bond. Sources: Remote Online Notary (RON) Application Process, Utah Lieutenant Governor. From the Utah Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Utah |
| Vermont | Allowed Allowed with OPR's special endorsement for electronic and remote acts; you must be located in Vermont |
Apply for the special endorsement and attest that your technology complies | 1 hour of continuing education on electronic or remote acts at renewal | State: $30 endorsement (26 V.S.A. 5324(b)) Per act: No limit found in chapter 103 or the Rules |
Recording kept 10 years (statute 10, Rules 7). Live, real-time audio and video clear enough for the act. Sources: 26 V.S.A. chapter 103; 26 V.S.A. 5324. From the Vermont Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Vermont |
| Virginia | Allowed Allowed for electronic notaries |
Traditional commission first, then apply online for an electronic commission; buy an electronic seal first | Not stated in the kit | State: $45 (nonrefundable) Per act: Up to $25 per electronic act |
Recording kept 5 years. Tell the Secretary within 90 days if you change technology. Sources: Electronic Notary, Secretary of the Commonwealth; Notary Handbook (July 2026). From the Virginia Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Virginia · Signers in Virginia |
| Washington | Allowed Allowed with an electronic records endorsement and remote approval (ch. 42.45 RCW) |
Get the endorsement, tell the Department your software within 30 days, then send your remote software name and wait for approval | Not stated in the kit | State: $15 endorsement Per act: Up to $25 |
Recording kept 10 years with a backup. Knowledge-based quiz: at least 5 questions, 80% within 2 minutes. Sources: Get your license, WA Department of Licensing; Chapter 308-30 WAC. From the Washington Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Washington |
| West Virginia | Allowed Allowed (W. Va. Code 39-4-37); you must be in West Virginia |
Notify the Secretary of State and name your technologies before your first remote act | Not stated in the kit | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: Not stated in the kit |
Recording kept 5 years. Remote ink on paper (39-4-38): the signer mails or delivers the signed original to you. Signers outside West Virginia require the Out-of-State Commissioner appointment. Sources: e-Notarization, West Virginia Secretary of State; W. Va. Code 39-4-37. From the West Virginia Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in West Virginia |
| Wisconsin | Allowed Allowed since 2019 Wisconsin Act 125; DFI-approved technology only |
No extra commission: complete an approved provider's onboarding and training; the provider notifies DFI | Provider's onboarding and training | State: No extra commission or license Per act: No DFI cap for remote acts found |
Recording kept 7 years. Remote estate planning documents need a supervising Wisconsin attorney (140.147). Sources: Wis. Stat. 140.145; Notary Public General Information, DFI. From the Wisconsin Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Wisconsin |
| Wyoming | Allowed Remote online and remote ink notarization permanently allowed since July 1, 2021 |
Notify the Secretary of State before your first remote or electronic act (W.S. 32-3-120(g)) | Not stated in the kit | State: Not stated in the kit Per act: No separate remote cap stated; a technology fee is allowed if agreed in advance |
Recording kept in your sole possession; retention period not stated in the statute. Remote ink covers acknowledgments only. An act through an electronic system is treated as performed in Wyoming. Sources: New Notary Law Highlights (effective July 1, 2021), Wyoming Secretary of State; 2021 Senate File 29, enrolled. From the Wyoming Notary Starter Kit. Becoming a notary in Wyoming |
Recent and upcoming changes
Marked only where the state's kit or the official page itself describes the change. Three were rechecked on the official page in November 2026: Alabama, Massachusetts and North Carolina.
- Alabama: Act 2026-536, in effect October 1, 2026, adds rules on the signer's understanding and voluntary participation, notice of recording, the signer's location in the US, and when you must refuse (Secretary of State page).
- California: The Online Notarization Act (SB 696) takes effect when the Secretary of State certifies its system is ready, or January 1, 2030, whichever comes first.
- Connecticut: Remote notarization began October 1, 2023 (Public Act 23-28).
- Illinois: Fee caps amended by P.A. 104-0083, effective January 1, 2026.
- Louisiana: A 2026 resolution asks the Law Institute to study using remote notarization for authentic acts; until the law changes, it can't be used for them.
- Massachusetts: Enacted in 2023; the Secretary's page (checked November 2026) says not to use online remote platforms yet.
- Minnesota: Since January 1, 2023, remote acts follow the same fee section as in-person acts (Secretary of State remote FAQ).
- North Carolina: The Secretary of State says emergency video notarizations run to July 1, 2027, or until the first remote electronic notarization license is issued (checked November 2026).
- South Dakota: SB 211 (2024) added notarization of electronic records by video, with two methods of identity proofing (SDCL 18-1-11.2).
How to read the table
- Allowed means the kit found a working path for notaries: a registration, notice, approval or separate commission. Allowed, limited means the path exists but covers less, such as electronic documents only (Indiana), acknowledgments and jurats only (Missouri), or no real estate closings (Connecticut).
- In the law, not open yet means the statute is there but the state hasn't opened registration or licensing. Not available means the official pages the kit used describe no audio-video remote notarization for that state's notaries.
- Not stated in the kit means the kit's official sources didn't give that figure. We leave it blank rather than guess. Ask the commissioning office.
- A per-act fee is the most the notary may charge for the notarial act. Platform and technology charges are a separate question; read your state's rule.
Signing for someone in another state? Whether their state accepts an out-of-state online notarization is covered on online notary by state. For the steps to get commissioned in the first place, see how to become a notary in other states. Adding remote acts to a New Jersey commission? Start with how remote online notarization works in New Jersey.
General information checked November 2026 against each state's official pages, cited in its row, not legal advice. Rules change; confirm with your commissioning office before your first remote act. MCC Solutions isn't affiliated with any state. The filter runs in your browser.
Common questions
Can I notarize remotely as soon as I'm commissioned?
Usually not. Most states on this table that allow remote acts have a step first: a registration, a notice, a separate commission or an approved platform. Michigan says acts done before it processes your form are invalid. A few, such as Illinois for remote ink acts, need no extra step, so read your own row.
Do I have to be in my own state during a remote act?
Yes, wherever the kit states a location rule. Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Maryland, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Washington, Wisconsin and others require the notary to be physically in the state. The signer can often be elsewhere, with extra conditions for signers outside the US. Check your own row.
Which states changed their remote rules recently?
This page marks 9 states where the kit or the official page describes a recent or upcoming change. Among them: Alabama's Act 2026-536 took effect October 1, 2026, North Carolina's emergency video notarizations run until July 1, 2027 or the first remote license, and Massachusetts hasn't opened registration yet.
Is this the same as whether my signer's state accepts the notarization?
No. This page is about whether you, the notary, may perform remote acts. Whether a document notarized online is accepted somewhere else is a different question, covered on our online notary by state pages.